A gallery is a set of photos, videos, and slideshows in your account. This can be one photo shoot, a portrait session, a wedding, an event, or any group of files that you choose to put together. All files in a gallery share the same Settings, including the price sheet (if any) attached and password. Each gallery also has a separate shopping cart for your clients.
You can use albums in your photo galleries to organize your files, which you can learn more here: What is an album?
Creating a New Gallery
To create a new gallery, navigate to the Galleries tab on the left side of the page and choose All Galleries. Then click the New Gallery button in the top right.
Give your gallery a name and choose the Shoot Date. You can also select the Gallery Preset you'd like applied to this gallery. If you haven't created a Gallery Preset yet, you will start with a set of default options, which can be updated in the Settings once you've created the gallery. Once you've named the gallery, set the date, and selected a preset, click Create Gallery.
Uploading Files
You can upload files to your gallery in a variety of ways. You can click the Upload Photos button in your new gallery, with the Desktop Uploader, or through the Lightroom Plugin.
Photos can be JPEG files up to 50MB each. Always upload photos in the sRGB color space.
Videos can be MOV, QT, M4V, & MP4 up to 20GB and be no longer than 60 minutes.
You can organize your files into albums, which are like sub-folders in your gallery. You can create an album by clicking the Add Albums button. You can upload files directly into that album by clicking on the album name on the left side of the page.
Albums can be incredibly helpful for school or sports photography. Since albums are nested within a gallery, your clients can purchase files from multiple albums with just one checkout. Click here to learn more about setting up albums.
There isn't a limit on how many images you can upload into a gallery, but if a gallery has more than 2,500 files in it the Buy All and Download All buttons will be automatically disabled.
It is not possible for clients to upload to a gallery. Only a user on the studio's account is able to upload images.
Gallery Settings
You can edit the settings for a particular gallery by clicking the Settings icon on the left side of the page when you click into any individual gallery. Here, you can add a password, choose a date to make the gallery live to clients, turn on free digital downloads, and more. To configure the gallery's visual settings, such as colors, logos, fonts, etc., click on the Branding icon. Both the Settings and Branding sections automatically save your changes as you work.
To view a complete list and explanation of all of the gallery settings, click here.